Subject Guides for Manuscripts and Archives Materials

Subject guides on our collections developed and maintained by Manuscripts and Archives staff:

NEW: American Diplomacy

This guide includes archival and primary source material concerning the diplomacy of the United States, primarily found either in State Department records, presidential records, or the personal papers of diplomats. It includes records and personal papers available in original format in Yale University Library special collections or in government and university archives, and often accessible online or as printed publications or microforms.

Architecture at Yale, Primary Sources on

This guide provides a list of resources in Manuscripts and Archives for the study of architecture at Yale. While not comprehensive, it lists major collections in the following areas: Modern and Contemporary Architecture, Urban Planning and Design, and Yale Buildings and Campus. The guide is updated regularly. See also the subject guide Primary Sources for the Study of Art, Architecture, and Drama in Manuscripts and Archives, which was created in 1997 and is no longer actively updated.

China (1705-1726 and 1831-2003), Primary Source Materials in Manuscripts and Archives Relating to

Major collections in Manuscripts and Archives that provide primary resource materials on the study of China.

House (Edward M.) Papers and Associated Collections

The House Papers, augmented by those of his colleagues, constitute one of the major collections of archival resources on the Wilsonian era and the formation of the League of Nations. Collected by Yale history professor and president Charles Seymour from the 1920s through the 1960s, the most significant manuscript in this vast archive is the Diary of Colonel House. Widely regarded as the primary key to the knowledge and understanding of Woodrow Wilson and his time, the Diary (1912-26) with House's Reminiscences and Memories is now available in a microfilm publication of four reels, accompanied by a printed guide, 64p.

Legal Collections in Manuscripts and Archives

Provides a selected overview of law-related manuscripts collections held by Manuscripts and Archives. The guide is not comprehensive, but is a useful introduction to these collections. Tabs in the guide group the collections into the following categories: Judges, Lawyers, Politicians and Government Officials, Yale Faculty, Connecticut Political and Legal History, Civil Liberties and Civil Rights, U.S. Foreign Relations and International Law, and Notable Cases.

Medical Care and Health Policy (Contemporary) Collection

The Contemporary Medical Care and Health Policy Collection Subject Guide is an annotated list of personal papers and organization records in Manuscripts and Archives which document the development, evolution, and politics of health care and health policy in the United States during the twentieth century.

Sexuality, Manuscripts and Archives Resources on

An annotated list of personal papers and organization records in Manuscripts and Archives related to gender, sexuality, and lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender lives and culture. The guide, though not comprehensive, lists the most substantive sources.

Swim Team, Yale University

This guide provides a brief historical background to the Yale Swim Team, and links to digitized materials from a variety of University Archives collections relating to swimming at Yale.

Yale History, Resources on

A source for basic information, introducing the history and traditions of Yale and answering many of the most frequently asked questions about the university.

Subject guides that include our collections, but are developed and maintained by other Yale librarians or outside of Yale:

African History Primary Sources

Includes collections from Manuscripts and Archives along with licensed databases and microforms also available in the Yale University Library.

Espionage and Intelligence in American History

This guide was created during Fall Term 2013 for the Yale course GLBL 392 / Intelligence, Espionage, and American Foreign Policy. It includes a tab of information on archival collections in both Manuscripts and Archives and the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library relating to the topic of the course.

Medicine (Western) in China, 1800-1950: Guide to Collections at Yale University

This guide provides summary information and finding aid links for archival collections on the topic of western medicine in China from the Divinity School Library, Manuscripts and Archives, and the Medical Historical Library, all part of the Yale University Library. The guide was created as part of the collaborative Western Medicine in China, 1800-1950 project.

South Asia in Manuscripts and Archives

This guide is intended to give students and researchers a starting point for learning about collections in Manuscripts and Archives in Sterling Memorial Library that have South Asian content. Geographically South Asia incorporates the following: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, the Himalayan region, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The guide is maintained by the Librarian for South Asian Studies.