Library Committees

Aeon Users Group

Reports To: Special Collections Steering Committee

Committee Charge: The Access for Special Collections Advisory Group has primary responsibility for Aeon, an automated request and workflow management software for special collections.  The group will be responsible for implementing new versions of Aeon and prioritizing and executing enhancement requests.  They will also advise on public and staff workflows related to Aeon.  It will provide feedback to advisory groups for discovery systems (ILS, ArchivesSpace) related to requesting materials and access. The Advisory Group will:

  • Take the lead for implementing new versions of Aeon, including timelines, training, and testing. 
  • Develop and prioritize a list of enhancements to pursue with Atlas and as necessary developed in house.
  • Maintain documentation for staff and patrons on the use of Aeon on the Aeon Staff Client LibGuide and Box.  
  • Identify the ongoing level of support that is necessary for maintaining Aeon as a production level 24/7 operation that is integrated with Orbis, Archives at Yale, Quicksearch, GFA and potentially other discovery tools.
  • Liaise with other advisory groups (ILSAG, YAMS).  Responsible for testing related to Aeon as discovery systems are updated or implemented.  Provide feedback on new or updated discovery tools as needed. 
  • Maintain and update the Yale University User Agreement for Special Collections
  • If appropriate, evaluate other request management systems for use at Yale.

Frequency of Meetings: Biweekly

Committee Members:

Fitzgerald, Moira Beinecke, Chair, Contact moira.fitzgerald@yale.edu
Azam, Sara Divinity Library sara.azam@yale.edu
Becker, Jessica Manuscripts & Archives jessica.becker@yale.edu
Boursy, Richard Music richard.boursy@yale.edu
González Palacios, Mar Arts mar.gonzalezpalacios@yale.edu
Grafe, Melissa Medical Historical Library melissa.grafe@yale.edu
Hatcher, Rebecca Beinecke rebecca.hatcher@yale.edu
Ross, Stephen Manuscripts & Archives s.ross@yale.edu
Walker, Susan Lewis Walpole Library susan.walker@yale.edu
Last modified on September 8, 2021 . Contact Andrew Gray to update.