Library Committees

Metadata Strategy and Policy Steering Committee (MSPSC)

Reports To: Library Executive Committee

Committee Charge:

  • Oversee maintenance of current policies and documentation of lasting value, and create schedule for regular reviews and updates
  • Provide strategic direction for metadata practices throughout the Yale Library.
  • In support of wider Library objectives, solicit and receive proposals for service enhancements as well as new initiatives. 
  • Nominate members of metadata advisory groups 
  • Establish common templates and directory structures for metadata policy communication; establish norms on use of tools such as Zoom, Slack, O365
  • Ensure that policies, project updates, new initiatives, etc. are provided to the Web Documentarian for public posting
  • Distribute agendas and minutes

Frequency of Meetings: Monthly or as needed.

Member Selection Method: Ex officio, as chairs of subsidiary working and advisory groups, with 2 rotating members.

Term of Service: 2 years, renewable

Committee Member:    
Bazeley, Jennifer co-Chair of ILS Metadata Advisory Group, ex officio  jennifer.bazeley@yale.edu
Bolkovac, Eva  Manager, Metadata Services Unit, ex officio  eva.bolkovac@yale.edu
Carruth, Ruth Recording Secretary ruth.carruth@yale.edu
Clemens, Alison Archival & Manuscript Description Cmte Chair, ex officio
Cordes, Ellen (Member at Large) ellen.cordes@yale.edu
Custer, Mark Chair of Digital Object Metadata Advisory Group, ex officio mark.custer@yale.edu
Fell, Todd (Member at Large) todd.fell@yale.edu
Lovins, Daniel Chair daniel.lovins@yale.edu
Matković, Danijela Chair of Authorities & Identities Advisory Group, ex officio danijela.matkovic@yale.edu
Norris, Jeanette co-Chair of ILS Metadata Advisory Group, ex officio jeanette.norris@yale.edu
Thompson, Timothy Chair of Metadata Standards Advisory Group, ex officio timothy.thompson@yale.edu
Last modified on July 23, 2021 . Contact Andrew Gray to update.